ushistory logo<
buy a poster
ushistory logo

The President's House in Philadelphia

The President's House Oversight Committee

"To help guide the project’s development and ensure its ultimate success, the City and Independence National Historical Park have convened a formal Oversight Committee that includes representatives from the advocacy groups that called for this commemorative project." The members of the Oversight Committee listed at the opening of the President's House, in December 2010, were:

  • Clarence D. Armbrister, Chief of Staff, City of Philadelphia
  • Charles L. Blockson, Curator Emeritus, Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection at Temple University
  • Michael Coard, Esq., Founding Member, Avenging the Ancestors Coalition
  • Doris Fanelli, Ph.D., Chief, Division of Cultural Resources Management, Independence National Historical Park
  • Hal Fichandler, Special Assistant to City Council, City of Philadelphia
  • Tanya Hall, Executive Director, Philadelphia Multicultural Affairs Congress, a division of the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau
  • Charles Hayden, Judge, Municipal Court of Philadelphia
  • Melanie Johnson, City Representative, City of Philadelphia
  • Edward Lawler, Jr., Scholar, Representing the Independence Hall Association
  • Charlene Mires, Associate Prof. of History, Villanova University; Editor, Pennsylvania History Studies Series, Pennsylvania Historical Association; Representing the Ad Hoc Historians
  • Romona Riscoe Benson, President & CEO, African American Museum in Philadelphia
  • (The late John Skief, Chief Administrative Officer of the Harambee Institute of Science & Technology Charter School; Representing the Honorable Chaka Fattah, U.S. House of Representatives)
  • Karen Warrington, Director of Communications, Office of the Honorable Robert A. Brady, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Joyce Wilkerson, Former Chief of Staff, City of Philadelphia, Admininstration of Mayor John F. Street

ushistory logo Facebookinstagram

Interested in using our content? Click here!

Copyright ©1999- by the Independence Hall Association, a nonprofit organization in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, founded in 1942. Publishing electronically as On the Internet since July 4, 1995.