Seven Walking Tours
FRONT PAGE
FAIRMOUNT PARK
INDEPENDENCE HALL AREA
HISTORIC, NORTH OF MARKET
PARKWAY
RITTENHOUSE
SOCIETY HILL
WASHINGTON SQUARE
PREVIOUS STOP ... NEXT STOP ...

Woodford

image73 image74

Now we move on to Woodford which has been owned by a succession of prominent Philadelphians, notably jurist William Coleman, a member of Franklin's intellectual scholarly group, the Junto, and David Franks, a signer of the Non-Importation Agreement of 1765 (signers would not buy goods from Great Britain until the Stamp Act was repealed). His daughter Rebecca was one of the belles feted at the "Meschianza," and her letters are evocative recreations of the time. Rebecca, however, married General Sir Henry Johnson, spending her declining years in Bath, England. She often remarked how she missed Philadelphia and its ways. Her father's property was confiscated because of his Loyalist leanings.

Once the scene of Tory gaiety during the British occupation of Philadelphia, Woodford now stands as a living monument to the past. Its appeal today is greater for it displays to great advantage in its Georgian rooms the remarkable Naomi Wood collection of American antiques. The house was remodeled in 1756 by William Coleman from an earlier, smaller house built about 1735. Franks, George III's Controller of Customers, made further improvements including the addition of the second floor with its elegant Palladian window.

July 11, 2003, the mansion suffered fire losses, damaging some of the rare artifacts and extending to the upper floors of the building.

historic documents, declaration, constitution, more